MAC Nutcracker Sweet Collection

mac-holiday-2016-nutcracker-sweet-collection

As always, MAC has put out a visually stunning collection for the holidays. MAC holiday stuff has always kind of been a tradition for me for a solid ten years, so I always get excited to see what is in store.  The aesthetic of each collection always exceeds what any other brand is doing. They go above and beyond to make special packaging that MAC junkie will cherish and enjoy using and displaying on their vanity.

The Nutcracker Sweet Collection definitely does not disappoint.

The bright pink and dark plum color scheme was a little unexpected for a holiday collection, but I love unconventional design.wp-1479433584292.jpg The stars, polka dots, and stripes paired with regal gold rope-like accents are awesome. The selection of powders was what I found most enticing, but as always I needed to snag at least one lipstick from the collection. I also wound up buying a cosmetic bag, the Nutcracker Sweet Pink Mineralize Kit which comes with a mini Mineralize Skin Finish in Lightscapade (a shade I’ve been wanting to try!), as well as a Mineralize lipstick and lip gloss which are OK. I really just got it for the bag because I really love stars!

The fiwp-1479433536163.jpgrst product that drew me into this collection was the Magic Dust Powder; an ultra pigmented iridescent shimmery powder that could be worn as a blush, blush topper, or as a highlighter. It comes in two shades; Yum Yum Yum (pink), and Sweet Vision, which is a peachy pink with golden reflects. If you like a glowy look, this is kind of a must have. It imparts a beautiful luminous look to the cheeks and it wears well. I like to put it on top of a matte blush in a similar color, like Clinique Melon Pop. If you really want to get glowy, wear it with a luminous foundation. It looks FAB.

The other powder that I got really excited about was the Sweet Peach Face Compact (which also comes in another colorway with cult favorite limited edition highlighter Whisper of Gilt). The Sweet Peach compact is great for very fair skin like mine.The blush is a muted neutral petal pink color that seems to look really beautiful on my skin tone. It is definitely the type of blush that I put on and feel like “damn, it’s a good kingdom-of-sweets2makeup day.”

The highlighter isn’t something that I’ve never seen before, but it is really nice with this blush. It has a peachy white gold kind of color and rem products in their holiday sets, and that is not the case here. The set received an A grade from Temptalia, and I agree. Great blendability, pigment, and wear time. The colors are flattering on my sister and I both.  I can see this being a staple in my handbag.

So obviously I picked the color Kingdom of Sweets when perusing the lipstick colors. I love a pale, milky candy pink. MAC does really great pink lipsticks, and the super cute packaging always gives me the perfect excuse to grab one. I have a weakness for gold and pink.

wp-image-1382850450jpg.jpg
Sweet Vision Magic Dust Powder, Sweet Peace Face Palette, Kingdom of Sweets Lipstick

Many of these items are not yet sold out, so hit up the MAC site and other department stores that sell MAC. When I first looked online, there appeared to be some sets that I did not see at my local MAC counter. If you’re looking for any beauty gifts, (for yourself of others) do not delay! There are brush sets, lipstick sets, eye shadow palettes, gloss sets, single eye shadows, Check out the holiday gift guide here if you need a good gift idea for your favorite beauty lover.

 

One thought on “MAC Nutcracker Sweet Collection

Leave a comment