Sephora Haul

sephorahaul105.jpgIt’s almost my birthday (OK, its actually still five weeks away) so I decided to buy myself some items that I’ve been coveting from Sephora (plus one non-Sephora item). More details about this little haul after the jump!

Sunday Riley is an awesome (albeit expensive) brand that I’ve been wanting to make a purchase from for a really long time. I got a deluxe sample of the Martian Mattifying Melting Water Gel Toner, $55, bout a month ago, and I loved it. The concept of this product is really cool; it melts into the skin and makes the skin feel toned, hydrated, and refreshed. This has been my first step after cleansing, and I do find that it makes a difference. My skin is ordinarily on the normal-to-dry side, but I had been getting a ton of little whiteheads on my forehead, so I thought this might help to combat that. I do find that it is effective in keeping my skin from getting oily in the T-zone, and my forehead has been clearing up.

Unlike other toners, I can actually see myself sticking to this one. I always forget to grab a cotton pad and use a regular toner, (even though a 7 part skincare routine is no sweat; selective laziness I guesssunday riley.jpg!)  and this eliminates that step. It functions more like an essence, so it provides a little bit of moisture and some soothing qualities. It doesn’t dry my skin out, so no need to compensate with extra products.

The next product is the UFO Ultra-Clarifying Face Oil, $80. This was a purchase that I found a little more difficult to justify, but once I went to the store and asked for a sample, I was hooked. I got enough to try it alongside the Melting Water Gel Toner for about a week, and during that time I saw a significant change in my skin. My pores in my T-Zone have been less congested, and I haven’t been seeing blackheads and sebacious filaments popping up quite as often. I use it at night, as I use a different serum with salicylic acid during the day. This oil has 1.5% salicylic acid, but it contains enough ingredients to balance out the moisture that can be stripped away by this infamously drying ingredient.

The packaging indicates that you can “Mix three to four drops of U.F.O. into foundation before application to give hydrating, acne-fighting power to your makeup routine” which I haven’t tried yet, but plan on trying soon. I find that adding oils to foundation can make them fade and break up more quickly, so it isn’t exactly my first choice but might be worth a shot!

The next item I ended up purchasing was a Beauty Blender x Too Faced holiday set, $40. It includes one beauty blender in light pink, a bloterazzi with Too Faced mascot Clover the dog, and a mini Candlelight glow split in Rosy Glowtoofacedxbeauty blender.jpg. I added and removed this from my cart no less than three times because I already have two backup Beauty Blenders, the original bloterazzi, and Candlelight Glow. I have absolutely no excuse other than the fact that the packaging was hella cute and I wanted a light pink beauty blender. Sue me.

The blush shown is Nars blush in Goulue. This is the VIB Rouge renewal gift for 2016, which isn’t exactly a color I can see myself wearing, but I’m excited to give it a try.

The final item shown is the paddle foundation brush. I purchased this at a local beauty supply store for $6 to see if it would live up to the hype of the original Artis brush. I’ve been wanting to buy one of the more expensive versions, but wanted to see if it might be something I would even enjoy using. I’ll post more about that once I try ut!

Leave a Reply

