September Favorites

sept-favorites

Fall is finally here, so I thought I’d start out this new season with my first monthly beauty favorites! Here are a few items that I’ve been using nonstop this month.


Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, $24

This stuff is my new holy grail. The tube is huge; 0.33 oz–while my other favorite–Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer–is a measly 0.16 oz and a full $4 more.

The first thing I noticed when I opened it was that the doe foot applicator is BIG. It’s very unlikely that you’ll have to dip your wand in a second time to get enough product. The applicator is soft but gives enough control to use it for contouring (if you have a darker shade) or carving sept-favorites1out your contour.

The formula wears well, isn’t drying or finicky in any way. It has been my go to concealer all month long.

Kat Von D Shade and Light Eye Palette in Rust, $26

At first, I resisted these cute little quads. However, when they hit the shelves at my Sephora store, I gave the Rust palette a swatch. Now I’ve loved Kat Von D Cosmetics since they launched the brand at Sephora, but I was beyond unimpressed with her earlier eye shadow palettes. They are very soft, pigmented, and just a little powdery. The colors are very complimentary and can be used for a soft warm eye, or a deeper rust-toned smoky eye.

And can we talk about the packaging? It’s shaped like a little coffin and has really awesome tattoo-style raised lettering. YES. I might need that cute double-ended brush in a similar coffin case.

Maybelline Super Stay Better skin Foundation, $11.99 and Maybelline Better Skin Powder, $9.99

I’m kind of a makeup snob most of the time, and it’s rare that I try something from the drugstore that I’m not “meh” about. If I wear most of my favorite drugstore foundations more than a couple of days in a row, I’m guaranteed to break out like crazy. This foundation, however, promised me better skin.

While I can’t tell if it’s truly made my skin better, it definitely hasn’t made it worse! And that’s a huge plus.

The coverage is medium and not too flat–but it also doesn’t go greasy and wet looking like a lot of drugstore foundations seem to do. I love setting it with the pressed powder that goes with it that has salicylic acid. When I wear both, I feel like my skin is protected from getting new breakouts. The powder is really good for a sept favorites 3.jpgdrugstore foundation powder.

Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Lipstick in Keep it Flesh, $12

I love Soap And Glory, and when they launched at my local Walgreens I was super excited to try more of their products.

Keep It Flesh is a pale, cool toned nude, and I fell in love with it because it reminds me of MAC Fleshpot–my all time favorite nude lipstick. The formula is satiny and moisturizing. It isn’t super opaque or long lasting, so a lip liner is a good idea. I would say that the formula is much better than most drugstore lipsticks, but it is not as good as what you might buy at the makeup counter.

Too Faced Love Flush Blush in Baby Love, $26

This was the third blush I purchased from the Love Flush collection, and it has become a fast favorite. I was still just beginning to branch out from baby pink and peachy toned blushes, so I didn’t know that this neutral toned dusty nude color would be flattering on me. However, the radiant finish, fine gold glitter, and easy blending made it hard to deny. It’s long wear time, cute bunny stamp, heart shaped packaging, and unique finish seal the deal. This is a great neutral fall color!

I want to know what all of your monthly favorites are! Comment below!

Leave a Reply

