The Best Brow Products For Blondes

browsPlenty of women with blonde hair can rock a darker eyebrow with no problem. I am not one of them. When I first began learning how to apply makeup to enhance my eyebrows, I felt like there weren’t really any products that were made for me. Everything I tried–even products for light/medium hair and those meant for blondes–looked far too dark for my coloring.

In the past few years, brows have become a major focus in the beauty industry. Perfectly filled and shaped brows are a great way to frame your face and make your eyes stand out. This step I used to skip has now become one of the most important parts of my routine.
I don’t claim be an eyebrow expert, but my brows have had a major transformation in the past year and a half. Here are the products and techniques that have worked best for me.

Start With Good Brows

If your brows are terrible, makeup isn’t going to be a cure all, and it will take a lot more work to make them look nice. my best advice is to completely stop plucking them for 4-6 weeks. Any plucking will interrupt brow growth in nearby follicles, so try to resist. You can keep your unibrow region clear if you wish.

If you aren’t sure how to shape your brows, go get them waxed or threaded by a professional with fantastic reviews. Bring photos and describe how you want them to look. From there, try to keep up with plucking and trimming your brows. Nothing ruins a good brow look like unruly hairs.

Brow Pomades

Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow in Blonde has been one of my go to brow products for a long time, and while I’ve had this container for longer than I should, it hardly looksbrow-pomade like I’ve made a dent in it. A little goes a very long way, and it can be a little tricky to get the technique right. I watched a lot of brow tutorials before I figure it out. The results, however, are well worth it. This pomade offers precision, long wear, and it’s waterproof.

Benefit Ka-BROW came out earlier this year along with Benefit’s wide variety of other brow products. This has replaced my Dipbrow as my go-to product. It is a little easier to use, a little bit creamier, and I prefer the shade. I use the lightest shade, 01 light for platinum to light blonde hair. I love that it has a built in brush, although I still need to keep a spoolie on hand to brush my brows before and after applying. Don’t skip that step!

Brow Pencils

It took me a long time to get on board with any brow product that resembles a pencil. My first brow products were pencils, and they were the WORST. In the years that followed my disaster brow stage, I’ve warmed up to the slanted tip brow pencils. I’m still not a big fan of fine point pencils.brow-pencils

The Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Pencil in Blonde was the first that I used and liked. The slanted tip allowed me to either fill a larger area by turning the tip to lay flat against my brows, or use the pointed tip for precision work. The texture is slightly waxy, so it helps tame the brows.

Shortly after trying that product, Anastasia Beverly Hills released a similar product called the Brow Definer. I use the blonde color in this product as well. I’m slightly more partial to this one and find it slightly easier to use, as it is less waxy.

Sometimes I like to use these and then brow gel, and other times I use them to define the tail of my brow and then finish with pomade and clear gel.

Brow Gel

If you have light colored brows, it can be really easy for them to look over done. To avoid this, I like to comb through my brows with as spoolie to pick up any extra product, then I use a clear brow gel to set the hairs in place. This is my non-negotiable for my eyebrows. Doing this has the effect of making the brows look more real; it adds dimension and also tends to pick up extra product and distribute it evenly. brow-gel

Using Anastasia’s Clear Brow Gel was the beginning of my brow transformation. It helped me to achieve the shape I wanted for my brows, wavy and unruly hairs be dammed. The formula is conditioning, so it helps me keep my brows healthy and helps me avoid sparse brows.

Benefit’s Ready, Set, Brow was the next product I tried. I would still say that Anastasia’s brow gel is my favorite, but this one has a really unique brush and fantastic hold. One side of the brush has long bristles and the other side is shorter, allowing you to sculpt your brows. The formula sets quickly and is awesome for those who don’t like brow gels with the standard spoolie applicator.

Products to Carve Out the Brows

I’m not sure who came up with that term, but it sounds just a touch extreme. This is a technique where you use a product like a concealer or flesh toned pencil to perfect the brow shape, erasing any mistakes. Irregularities, or stay hairs. If you want definition, this is the way to get it.

My preferred product is Anastasia Beverly Hills Concealer, which comes in a pot and is best applied with an angled brush. It is creamy, full coverage, and seems to be designed for that area. It comes in 16 colors and you will probably never run out. It gives me the definition brow-highlightand sharpness that I didn’t think was possible for hair as light as mine. Once it sets, I toss an eye shadow over it to highlight my brow bone. If I’m doing a dramatic eye look, I’ll usually use a matte cream-white color, and if I’m doing something lighter, I’ll use a shimmery white.

If you prefer something less high maintenance, Benefit High Brow Benefit High Brow is a great option. It comes in a matte and shimmer color, which is the one I have. This allows you to highlight and gives the illusion of a lifted arch with the swipe of a pencil.

Brow Powder

I don’t have much to say about brow powder, but I own one from Anastasia Beverly Hills in Blonde, and it’s nice for really natural brows. I think the best method for using brow powder is to define the outline of your brows with a pencil and use the powder in the bulk of the brow, using lighter strokes or a lighter color as you get closer to the inner end of the brow.

brows

This is what my eyebrows looked like before and after changing my technique and getting some new products.

 

Brow Serum

Not everyone needs to take this step, but if you have naturally light hair, you might have barely there brows like I do. I was also lucky enough to grow up in the 90’s when thin brows were in, so I was a bit of an over plucker. Plenty of people tint their brows, but my issue seems to be that my brows are a bit sparse.

swatches1

 

From L to R: Hourglass Arch Brow in Blonde, Anastasia Brow Definer in Blonde, Benefit Ka-BROW in 01 Light, Anastasia Dip Brow in Blonde, High Brow in Glow, and Anastasia Concealer in 0.5
 
There are so many brands that make eyebrow/eyelash growth serums and primers that go under your makeup. A quick search on Sephora or Amazon will show you that there are many options. Castor oil is an ingredient that helps with hair growth, so be sure to look for that!
I use Benefit’s BROWvo conditioning primer, but only because I received a deluxe sample. It’s quite nice and makes my brows look good on no makeup days. I’ve also used No.7’s Fanomenal Lash Serum (they also have one meant for brows, which is definitely on my list of things to try!) Which is much more affordable.

Do you have a favorite eyebrow product or technique? Share it below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

