My Favorite Summer Products That I’m Not Ready to Let Go Of Yet

summerfaves 1.jpg

Here in North Carolina, the weather is still decidedly quite summery. Although I’m loving all of the fall makeup looks that I’m starting to see all over social media, my makeup routine is still in summer mode. Here are a few favorite beauty items of mine that I’m not quite ready to retire for a more fall-friendly color palette.

Peachy Blushes

The only reason I tolerate summertime is because I love peachy and coral blushes. Warm tones are something I’ve only begun experimenting with in the past few years–forsaking my previous favorite–cool, baby pinks. When I have a little color to my skin, I love the way that a bright coral, pale apricot, or shimmery peach blush lights up my complexion.summer-faves-4

My first blush favorite for the summer is the Too Faced Perfect Flush Blush in Sparkling Bellini, $30. When I first swatched it on my hand, I gasped. Loudly. I can’t be bothered to care though, real makeup addicts like myself will understand. The three colors are so beautiful. I like to lay the darkest color right above my contour and mix the lighter two colors and apply to the apple of the cheek. It is shimmery, peachy, and luminous like any good summer complexion product.

The next item on my list is the Urban Decay Naked Flushed Pallete in Streak, which is currently on sale at Sephora for $15 down from $32. It comes with a highlighter, blush, and bronzer which all look fabulous together. The bronzer is nice and warm, and the highlight enhances that perfect summer glow.

Becca x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Split in Flowerchild/Champagne Pop, $38. This was a recent purchase for me. I love Champagne Pop, and mixing it with blushes has been something I’ve been into this summer. This duo makes it super easy to do just that, and the Flowerchild blush is the perfect summer peachy-pink.

Warm Bronzers

During the colder months, warm bronzers can look a bit… orange. Against pale skin, its not always a good look. Many experts recommend using cool toned bronzer for contouring, but I find that on my fair, cool toned skin it can look a bit ashy. I like to go with warm bronzers for contouring and bronzing. Summer might be over, but you can pry my warm and shimmery bronzers fromsummerfaves-2 my cold, dead hands.

The one shown here is MAC Studio Sculpt Defining Bronzing Powder in Golden Rinse, $34. Its from the Vibe Tribe collection from earlier this summer, but it is still in stock at Nordstrom. This gorgeous, silky satin matte bronzer applies and blends effortlessly.

MAC really does have some of the best powders, and thankfully this one is a re-promote, so once Nordstrom runs out, it shouldn’t be impossible to get.

Liquid Bronzer

summerfaves-3

When it starts heating up, a lot of my lighter foundations need a little something extra to add some warmth. Whether I’m trying to fake a tan or darken up a foundation that is a bit too pale, liquid bronzers are a staple in my makeup routine.

Stila Aqua Glow Perfecting Bronzer, $32 is seriously one of the best makeup products I own. It improves the texture and application of nearly every foundation I’ve added it to, and its pump applicator makes it easy to be precise.Its described as a non-stick cooling gel and it has hyaluronic acid in it to keep the skin hydrated, dewy, and youthful looking.

This used to be listed as a limited edition product, but when Stila released their Aqua Glow line (concealer and foundation) I guess they decided to make it permanent!

What are your favorite summer products? Let me know in the comment section below!

 

Leave a Reply

