Dose Of Colors Eyescream Palette Review

DSC_4913.JPG

I initially wasn’t going to post about this palette since it was limited edition and sold out before I received it, but it’s back now and you can grab this beautiful palette here at the  Dose Of Colors website! More information about the palette & my review after the jump.

I’ve been following Dose of Colors on Instagram for a while, but had never made a purchase until this palette came out. Their Hidden Treasures palette (also LE) was beautiful and I really regretted not buying it. When I saw the pretty pastel colors and mix of matte, and foil shades, I knew I needed to have it. It was a little reminiscent of Sigma’s Macaron palette from a few years back, and if you’ve seen my love for Too Faced products in other posts, you might have guessed that I love a sweet-themed makeup product.

This palette retails for $50 and comes with ten shadows, including 5 matte and 5 foil shades. Berries & Cream, Cone, Hot Fudge, Blueberry Swirl, and Lavender Honey are the matte shades, and Mint Chip, Sherbert, Banana Split, Bubble Gum, and Double Scoop are the foil shades. As you can see, the latter two have quite a bit of glitter.

dsc_49341

When I’m looking at a colorful palette, its important to me that it be balanced with some solid neutral colors. This palette has a bit of everything; a light shade for the brow bone or lid (Berries & Cream), a transition color (Cone or Blueberry Swirl), some deeper colors, and some gorgeous pops of color.

Right out of the box, I didn’t swatch these. I went straight to applying them on my lids and trying some looks I had thought up. This has been how I’ve operated, as of late. I hate when you swatch something and it performs well, then try it on to find that they do not compare to the swatches! In this case, I was immediately impressed. With the help of a primer (always!) these shadows went on smoothly and were quite

doseofcolors-eyescream

pigmented, and they were fairly effortless to blend. I expected a bit of trouble with Lavender Honey (as many purple formulas are quite difficult to create), but any issues were minimal. It is pigmented and high impact, albeit a little chalky. I found myself having to go back to add more to ensure that it was as intense as I wanted it. I’ve had no issues with any of the other colors.

When I finally got around to swatching the colors on my arm, I was happy to see that they came out with full pigment with a single swipe. The only color that I had issues with was Berries & cream–the pale pinky-beige color. I’m pretty fair in complexion, so it could be that its just a little bit close to my skin tone. It does perform quite well.

eyescream-swatches-3The foil shades perform and swatch really well and have a creamy fallout-free texture. They last fairly well throughout the day, which is a must!

If you’re looking for something new with some gorgeous pops of color, this is definitely a must have. It’s super cute, and Dose of Colors nailed it with the packaging. I’ve found myself reaching for it constantly and I think I will get a lot of use out of it.

Does anyone else have this palette? Any Dose of Colors fans out there? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

